Nursing Home Abuse
- What should I do if I suspect a loved one is being abused in a nursing home in North Carolina?
If you suspect a loved one is being abused at a nursing home, immediately seek medical attention for them. After they have seen a medical professional, you may file a complaint with the NC Division of Health Service Regulation. After filing a complaint, contact an experienced Nursing Home Abuse attorney at Daggett Shuler Law for help. Our lawyers will work hard to get your loved one the maximum compensation they deserve.
- What is the statute of limitations for a nursing home abuse case in North Carolina?
In North Carolina, there is a 3 year limitation for filing a nursing home abuse claim. Once that statute of limitations has expired, you will be unable to file a lawsuit in a nursing home abuse case. Therefore, if you suspect a loved one is being abused, report it right of way.
- How much does a nursing home abuse attorney cost?
The initial case review and consultation with an attorney at Daggett Shuler Law is FREE. Most cases we sign are on a contingency fee basis. This means that you owe us nothing unless we win or settle your case.
- What are the laws regarding nursing home abuse in North Carolina?
A variety of federal laws are in place protecting the elderly in the United States. More specifically, the Nursing Home Reform Act was enacted in 1987 which was created to ensure nursing home residents receive fair and quality care. This act established the following legal rights for nursing home residents:
- The right to freedom from abuse, mistreatment, and neglect
- The right to freedom from physical restraints
- The right to privacy
- The right to accommodation of medical, physical, psychological, and social needs
- The right to participate in resident and family groups
- The right to be treated with dignity
- The right to exercise self-determination
- The right to communicate freely
- The right to participate in the review of one’s care plan, and to be fully informed in advance about any changes in care, treatment, or change of status in the facility; and
- The right to voice grievances without discrimination or reprisal.
If a nursing home in North Carolina is in violation of any of these rights, the state has the authority to impose a variety of penalties.
- What is the value of my nursing home abuse case?
Every case is different and therefore the value of each case will be different as well. It depends on a variety of factors such as how long the abuse took place, the type of abuse, the severity of injuries sustained, current and future medical costs, as well as pain and suffering. An experienced North Carolina Nursing Home Abuse attorney at Daggett Shuler will be able to assess you case and work to seek the maximum compensation you deserve for your claim.
If you believe that you or a loved one may have a personal legal claim, you can contact us in one of three ways:
- Contact us online at daggettshulerlaw.com
- Call us toll free at 1-800-815-5500. Our phones are answered 24 hours a day.
- Click here for a Free Case Evaluation
At Daggett Shuler, you can depend on us.