Facebook Icon Twitter Icon YouTube Icon LinkedIn Icon

NC Businesses Without Workers’ Compensation Fined

March 4th, 2019 Workers Comp
Worker's Compensation Form

The Compliance and Fraud Investigative Division of the North Carolina Industrial Commission (NCIC) recently announced they have collected over $3.2 million in fines from business that do not comply with the Workers’ Compensation Act. A detailed article on the Commission’s actions is available here.

During the first two quarters of Fiscal Year 2018-2019, the NCIC issued 289 criminal charges against businesses they have found to be out of compliance with the Workers’ Compensation Act. The Commission’s Compliance and Fraud Investigative Division performed 640 investigations of violations related to workers’ compensation claims and cases of suspected workers’ compensation fraud.

About Workers’ Compensation

Under North Carolina law, those who have been injured on the job may qualify for Workers’ Compensation benefits. The injury must have occurred while carrying out activities for the benefit of an employer, and the injury must be an accident or the result of a specific trauma. Eligible employees typically receive two-thirds of their average gross pay for a total disability.

About the NCIC  

The NCIC investigates civil cases and issues civil penalties to those businesses that do not carry workers’ compensation insurance required under the Workers’ Compensation Act. Penalties and fines collected go toward the North Carolina Civil Penalty and Forfeiture Fund, which benefits public schools in the state. Last year, the NCIC collected over $8 million in penalties, which is a 465% increase over the $1.7 million collected during Fiscal Year 2016-2017.

About the Workers’ Compensation Act

Per the NCIC, the North Carolina Workers’ Compensation Act requires nearly all businesses with three or more employees to carry workers’ compensation insurance. The ruling applies to Limited Liability Companies (LLCs), corporations, sole proprietorships, and partnerships, provided that they do not already qualify as self-insured employers. Businesses that fail to carry workers’ compensation insurance may face fines, criminal charges, or even imprisonment. Certain employers qualify for exemptions to this requirement in specific instances.

We Can Help.

If you are unable to work due to a medical condition, mental illness, or injury, contact Daggett Shuler for help. An experienced Workers’ Compensation attorney can handle all of the paperwork and details necessary to work to secure the Workers’ Compensation benefits you deserve.

If you have questions about Workers’ Compensation benefits—or if your claim has been denied—call Daggett Shuler Law at 336-724-1234. When you call, you will speak with a North Carolina Workers’ Compensation Attorney absolutely FREE. We will investigate every detail of your situation at no cost to you—and fight hard to secure the benefits you deserve. 

Daggett Shuler Law – You Can Depend on Us

,

The Daggett Shuler office is very nice and they are excellent in their communication. Sheila McDonald is very helpful, professional and excels at customer service.

Dwayne Lanier